Header, Intake, & Exhaust Custom Exhaust? New Headers? Need Opinions on Intakes? Discuss making your ride breathe better here.

new civic in family......2000 hx manual trany

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2009, 05:02 PM
Smile new civic in family......2000 hx manual trany

im new at this, so i just wanted to ask, what modification can i do to my civic so that it may sound good, right now i have the stock exhaust, what can you recomend for my car. im also thinking of getting halo headlights. what do you guys think. please i'd like to know what you guys think.......

Old 01-09-2009, 05:19 PM

Well Halo headlights will not make your car sound any different. I would recommend starting off with an intake if anything. You would be able to hear it when you hit the gas.

Also, do you have any type of experience with working on cars?

Old 01-09-2009, 07:56 PM
HCF Member

I recommend what I have. I couldn't stand the sewing machine engine/exhaust sound of the stock setup. I also didn't like the huge gap above the tires. My sequence was:

Tach, exhaust, intake, wheels/tires, springs/shocks/alignment

Old 01-09-2009, 09:45 PM

IMO projector headlights suck (except OEM projectors from various vehicles). I have had two different pairs, one cheap, and one expensive, and they both sucked... visibility sucked on the cheap ones, and the projector broke during adjustment on the expensive ones. Also, there is a good chance the halos will burn out.

For exhaust I recommend something louder than stock but not too loud, such as the Apex-i WS2, Greddy SP2, and RS*R Exmag. Then get an intake system, and if you want to continue modding the exhaust system you can get a header and high flow catalytic converter. If you want a header you'll have to get the high flow cat too, because you'll have to convert to a 96-00 Civic EX exhaust layout due to the location of the stock cat on your car.

Old 01-09-2009, 11:04 PM
HCF Member