Header, Intake, & Exhaust Custom Exhaust? New Headers? Need Opinions on Intakes? Discuss making your ride breathe better here.

SRI VS CAI

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2007, 04:24 PM
Default SRI VS CAI

i just picked up and excellent condition 99 civic lx and i want to put some intake on it. I am new to cars... but i have been around the motorcycle streetbike world a lot. I have a few questions about sri vs cai.
I can't decide if i should get cai because i heard it's not good to drive around in the rain. and i heard short ram gets the air to the engine quicker and that makes me wonder if short ram would be better off the line than cold air. I was wondering if anyone know performance wise how much better cold air is compare to short ram.
any info would help out.

If anyone has any sugestions orany comments for my car i would love to hear them. especially about intake.

Old 09-20-2007, 04:37 PM
HCF Member
Default RE: SRI VS CAI

https://www.hondacivicforum.com/m_335102/tm.htm

also you wont hydrolock your engine (when you suck in water) with a CAI unless your filter is compltely submerged, which would take you driving through a small lake

Old 09-20-2007, 04:38 PM
Super Cereal Admin

okay, first off, welcome to the forums! Now that that's taken care of, remember that there is a search function here. Trust me, do a search and you'll find a wealth of information on this topic; it's been covered a few trillion times lol

Anyway, here it goes:

Short-Ram Intake: pulls air from, for the most part, the stock intake location. The throttle response is better than that of a cold-air intake, but the top-end power is slightly (very slightly) lower than that of it's cold-air counterpart. Generally, SRI's are about half the price of a CAI system. You don't need to worry about driving through puddles with a SRI.