The Lounge This section is for the most off topic of OT posts. although the lounge is moderated, whoring is permitted.

This has been bugging me

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-2007, 11:43 AM
HCF Member
Default This has been bugging me

Ok, so this is kind of a contemplative thread to help answer a question I have. Here it goes, I will try to explain it as best I can. I often hear people with turbos saying "oh yeah, my highway mileage went up a few miles per gallon." I am not dismissing this information as false, I am just posing a question. How does this work? I have thought about it a lot, and I just don't get it. I understand the fact that turbo's use exhaust gasses to make power, I'm not a complete noob, but it still doesn't pass the common sense test on how this increases fuel efficiency. A turbo pumps more air into the engine, which must be compensated with fuel. No matter what size turbo you have, it still takes the same amount of energy to keep the car at a given speed on the highway and I just don't get how you can get around the facts that it requires a certain amount of fuel to react with the air for combustion. If you are using a turbo, it doesn't make sense to me how that could reduce the units of fuel per unit air required for combustion. Therefore, at a given constant speed, I don't understand how mileage could improve.

As a disclaimer, I would like to say, please don't post nonsense in this thread that has been seeping into other threads. I would prefer to have no responses like "my buddy has better mileage now" or "i have better mileage with my turbo". I am looking for objective responses that not only present data of better mileage, but explain the WHY and HOW of this issue. That is my true question. Thanks for reading, I know it was kind of long.