The Lounge This section is for the most off topic of OT posts. although the lounge is moderated, whoring is permitted.

Street Bikes FTW!

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2008, 08:03 PM
Default Street Bikes FTW!

I figured I would make a seperate thread to speak about super sport or street bikes. I currently own an 06 Yamaha R6 and love her to death! My first bike was a 97 YZF750, then an 03 R6 and now of course, my current bike.

Ive been riding for about 6 years now and cant seem to get enough of it. Once I hit the age of 23 (4 months) Im planning to purchase the new Ducati 1098 and trading in my R6 for the 05 R1 (I like the older body style better).

If anyone else rides, I would love to hear about it!

Old 01-19-2008, 08:55 PM
HCF Member
Default RE: Street Bikes FTW!

Im planning on getting one this summer. Not sure what to get...any opinions? I had a yamaha ttr125 dirt bike and a Honda CR125 that was built and those were mighty fun.

Old 01-19-2008, 09:08 PM

Depends on what you are looking for. If you want speed in and out of turns, go for a super sport bike. The GSX-R's and R series Yammies are by the far the best, unless you can afford the italian bikes, such as Ducati or Aprillia. If you are looking for a daily cruiser for longer hauls, look into the sport touring bikes. I personally dont have the stomach for these. The body styles are just plain ugly. Keep in mind, any bike you get the insurance will be pretty high. Take the motorcycle safety course and it will knock off quite a bit.

Old 01-19-2008, 09:10 PM
HCF Member

Yea i have been looking at gixxers for a while. What is the yamaha comparison to that? And how are CBR's?

Old 01-19-2008, 09:19 PM

GSX-R's and Yamaha R series are neck and neck. The Honda CBR's are alright bikes, but lack in the handling and speed that Suzuki and Yamaha provide. Honda created a super sport bike to increase their versatility...i.e trucks, cars, boats, etc.... I for one think they should've stopped at portable generators