Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a check engine light that won't go away, ask about it here!

Automatic Transmission is acting funny

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2012, 06:17 AM
HCF Member
Question Automatic Transmission is acting funny

So I've been driving my 2005 Honda Civic LX for 13 months. The engine will be at 120k miles in a week or two. Its an automatic transmission. Lately it has been changing gears differently. I am not sure if its the heat wave that has been sweeping the nation lately, or the slight transmission leak that my mechanic pointed out in June. I plan to check the fluid level later after work.

So the transmission used to change up a gear around 2.5rpm, and wouldn't hover there long. But for the last week its been changing at 3rpm, 3.5rpm... And I can hear it staying in those rpm's for a few seconds longer than usual. As I accelerate from a stop, I can hear the engine get louder, as it jumps to 3.5rpm, and it stays there for 2-3 seconds until I feel the transmission change gear and see the rpm go back down to 1.5ish.

I am not familiar with the numbers of gears or whatever, but it doesn't change gears in this funny way until I get to driving 30mph, 40mph, 60mph.... The earlier gear changes don't seem to be having problems.

Has anyone else started having automatic transmission problems this early? The 1998 Honda Civic DX I used to have was also an auto, and it's transmission was really rough. Really really rough. It would shake the whole car when changing gear. It had 180k miles.

My dad owns this car, and he doesn't seem to believe me when I say the transmission isn't acting normal and we should take it to be looked at, especially with that leak... Perhaps fluids and filters should be changed? Any advice or life lessons from other members would be helpful in my persuading him to protect the life of the transmission.