Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a check engine light that won't go away, ask about it here!

Glow Gauges--can't find 12v source

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-2006, 03:44 PM
HCF Member
Default Glow Gauges--can't find 12v source

I'm a major newb at electrical stuff, and can't seem to find a hot 12v wire for my glow gauges. Installation was great, but now there is no juice. The ground wire (-) can just be attached to a bolt on the frame for a ground, correct?

Do I have to splice off something or will there be a free 12v wire floating around? Lost, help is appreciated. Thanks.

Old 01-28-2006, 07:16 PM
HCF Member
Default RE: Glow Gauges--can't find 12v source

i just attatched the ground to a spare bolt and then found the amber lights fuse, pulled it out, stuck the positive wire in and then put the fuse back in. then whenever you turn your lights on your gauges will have power. its kind of half assed but its worked fine

Old 01-28-2006, 09:03 PM
Cat Fuсker

use the wire from the lights that goes into the dimmer switch...someone correct me if I'm wrong, but I think it is the black-red wire...or the red one...check your wiring diagram

Old 01-28-2006, 11:02 PM
HCF Member

im pretty sure its red. but dont hold me too it

Old 01-29-2006, 01:11 PM
HCF Member

a easy thing would be to get the 12v wire and put a connecter on the end, and connect it into a constent spare fuse thing under the dash

Old 01-29-2006, 01:36 PM
HCF Member