Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a check engine light that won't go away, ask about it here!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Head Gasket Replacement

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2012, 07:28 PM
Default Head Gasket Replacement

Gents,

I'm looking at replacing the head gasket on my '99 Honda Civic. I've never done it before, but I have the Haynes manual. It seems straight forward, just very time consuming. I'm looking for tips and pitfalls from anyone who has done this before.

Any advice for someone who has never cracked open an engine?

Old 10-16-2012, 04:02 PM
HCF Member

Originally Posted by CarNoobie
Gents,

I'm looking at replacing the head gasket on my '99 Honda Civic. I've never done it before, but I have the Haynes manual. It seems straight forward, just very time consuming. I'm looking for tips and pitfalls from anyone who has done this before.

Any advice for someone who has never cracked open an engine?
Don't attempt it alone, there are so many little things to keep track of, and you will need special tools. My advice is to have two tables set up, one for the parts you remove, the other for tools. Make sure to keep track of all your hardware. And when you remove the crank shaft pulley don't forget about the little key that comes out of there too. DO NOT LOSE THIS KEY OR FORGET TO REINSTALL IT.

Timing an engine can be very difficult too if you've never done it, I would recommend finding a friend or relative with experience dismantling an engine.

Old 10-17-2012, 04:57 AM
HCF Member
Default HG replacement

While I haven't used a Haye's manual for years, I often found them lacking. Find an online honest-to-goodness Honda manual or buy one. Compare the two for the entire story.