Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a check engine light that won't go away, ask about it here!

help! loose axle shaft

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-2004, 07:44 AM
Default help! loose axle shaft

i believe it is my axle-shaft, located between the inner and outer cv joints on the front passenger side of my 4DR DX

i need to tighten it or possibly replace it, and i'm clueless. any help would be appreciated -- i'm not very technical, but i can follow directions

my wheel wobbles as a result and when i go over a bump on that side, i can hear the wheel assembly knock. how can i adjust this?

Old 10-12-2004, 02:37 AM
Default RE: help! loose axle shaft

ORIGINAL: all2common

i believe it is my axle-shaft, located between the inner and outer cv joints on the front passenger side of my 4DR DX

i need to tighten it or possibly replace it, and i'm clueless. any help would be appreciated -- i'm not very technical, but i can follow directions

my wheel wobbles as a result and when i go over a bump on that side, i can hear the wheel assembly knock. how can i adjust this?
I can't see your wheel wobbling being caused by the half shaft unless it was bent.

Assuming that it is not - The first things that should be checked - wheel bearing, ball joints and struts. The easiest way to do this is take it somewhere for an "estimate". Let them do the troubleshooting. Then purchase a manual and do the work yourself or post on here what they told you is bad and we can try talking you through the procedure on replacing the bad parts.