Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a check engine light that won't go away, ask about it here!

New civic owner in need of advise from veterans!! Over heating!!

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2013, 07:08 AM
Red face New civic GL 1990 2 Door owner in need of advise from veterans!! Over heating!!

First off what an amazing site, I came looking for advise found this site and spent the last 2 hours just reading and looking at what you have all been upto....nice!!
Ok i should start by stating im not a mechanic but know a little about engines.

So my tale of woe, I just moved to perth Australia with my girlfriend and we brought a Renault (or I should say she did) with a head just about to go and quests what? It just went last Friday! So buy buy ****ty car and a whole chunk of our savings!
On the upside a legend of a guy next door has taken pity on us and given me/us a 1990 civic gl 2 door auto.i repeat, legend. Basically it has been sat for nearly three months and the battery is completely dead, so I'm getting a new one tomorrow. Tried charging and jumping but no go. We have been told that the car over heats when sat at lights (old boy said that he put heater on full to cool it down) and he used to have to rev when turning ignition to get it going.
I drain radiator and bleed engine today (have done this before). There was hardly anything in it at all, also radiator top up tank had massive crack so have fixed that up. I have refilled with distilled water and coolant mix and when I get a new battery will start her up, make sure I get all the air out of her check for leaks and see how we go.