Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a check engine light that won't go away, ask about it here!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Valve Adjustment Problems

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2007, 12:17 AM
HCF Member
Default Valve Adjustment Problems

I hate asking for help with this becuase I am a ASE certified Auto Technician. But today I asjusted my valves on my 95 civic sedan LX. It has a D series 1.5 Litre 16 Valve Non-Vtec motor in it. I adjusted them to what was told to me by a pretty good source the specefied clearence. Which is suppost to be .007-.009" on Intake Valves and .009-.011 on Exhasut. I adjusted them to that, not thinking that it was odd how much I had to back them off to get them to the specs. Started my car a a dangerously loud valve noise was present. So, I have no idea what happened or at least the only thing I can think of is the specs I got are for a different motor since there are 4 different options for my car. If anyone has any ideas please let me know. Or, if you happen to come across different specs, let me know that too. I would really appreciate it.
[align=left] [/align]

Old 04-10-2007, 08:09 AM
HCF Member
Default RE: Valve Adjustment Problems

what does a valve noise sound like?

is it a sound that exists right after starting up car and goes away as car warms up or not?

Old 04-10-2007, 08:35 AM
HCF Member

no its not that. Its a ticking sound. All hondas do it. But theres a point in some hondas that it just ticks very badly and ends up breaking valve seals etc. Mostly on high mileage motors, it starts to get bad and its time for a valve adjustment.

But yeah it doesn't just go away. Its always there...the ticking that is.

Old 04-10-2007, 08:58 AM

the specs you got is right , i did my valvesa couple of months ago coz it was ticking badly, after i adjusted the valve clearance 90% of the ticking went away.

Old 04-10-2007, 09:11 AM
Recognized HCF Member