New Member Introductions Are you new to Honda Civic Forum? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride. This section is not for technical questions.

Hello All - From a 97' Civic HX Owner

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-2010, 08:12 AM
Default Hello All - From a 97' Civic HX Owner

Hey guys,

My name is Kyle. I am the proud owner of a 97 Honda Civic HX 2 Door Automatic. It is Black and has a rear spoiler.

I have some ideas for changes, primarily mechanical, that I want to ask advice on, so if you see my posts, PLEASE feel free to put your input in, as I am always wanting advice.

I am a car noob, but am learning. I recently bought the Haynes Repair Manual for the Honda Civic (96-00), CRV (97-01) and Acura Integra (94-00). I have been looking through it. I am beginning to become familiar with the parts and locations of parts in my car, but am still clueless as to how all of them work together.

Anyways, I will start up a different post for these ideas I have in my head for my Civic:

1. Check Engine Light (Mech says it's catallytic converter, and for my particular model, priced the part at $650. WHAT!?!)

2. Well, I need new tires, any recommendations...

3. Learning how to change oil. I don't think it's gunna be hard... but advice would be cool.

4. I want to remove my auto transmission, and install a 5 speed. I know this is a BIG project. But I want to try it.

Thanks, and I look forward to meeting everyone!

Last edited by Sectorbob; 08-31-2010 at 10:25 AM. Reason: Spelling
Old 08-30-2010, 08:48 AM
HCF Member

Hello and welcome to HCF first off would love to see pics of the car, and if the wing is not OEM it has to go.

If it is your CC then I would check around for prices there has to be cheaper ones around im sure.

Tires here: http://www.discounttiredirect.com/di...w=false&cs=195
Myself and Trustdestruction on here would recommend these. Both having these I think they are great tires and the tread is smooth driving.

Old 08-30-2010, 09:28 AM

Thanks!