New Member Introductions Are you new to Honda Civic Forum? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride. This section is not for technical questions.

Hello! Honda Newbie here!

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-2006, 11:51 AM
Default Hello! Honda Newbie here!

Hey everyone,
Total Honda newbie here. I happen to be a Toyota enthusiast but since my dad's 1999 Civic LX has neared the end of its short life (290K miles) we were thinking about what options what have with getting a new motor. I really don't know about the difference between the series and what motors fit in what, but one of my friends (who happens to own a honda) said we should consider doing a swap to a more powerful engine (it's pretty hard for the car to make it over hills, especially since it's automatic). We're not looking for something that's a prelude motor or something (learned those were 2.2L) but rather something in the 1.6-1.8L range. Also, if it were smog legal that would be great!

I know that there's ways of getting JDM motors and hunting down certain parts from a USDM motor such as cams, EGR, intake manifold, and exhaust manifold for Toyotas to make them smog legal, but if you guys have suggestions such as JDM motors, if you can include ways of making it smog legal in California that would be awesome! One of the things I was wondering was if the 1999 Civic EX motor (no clue what the name of the motor is) would be a direct swap with the 1999 Civic LX motor.

Also if you could include places I could source motors for a swap that would be great. This swap would be done in my garage with the help of my uncle (experienced mechanic). Thanks for the input!!!

Ed

Old 07-11-2006, 11:59 AM
HCF Member
Default RE: Hello! Honda Newbie here!

Really I don' t want to read all that. Welcome to the forum.

Old 07-11-2006, 12:01 PM

use the search function this has been asked many times

Old 07-11-2006, 01:24 PM
HCF Member

damn 290 K ?? on an automatic. How did you do that.

Old 07-11-2006, 02:22 PM