New Member Introductions Are you new to Honda Civic Forum? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride. This section is not for technical questions.

New Civic Owner!

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2011, 11:01 AM
HCF Member
Talking New Civic Owner!

So I'm not new to the forum, I've been here a few months buttt I registered here before I had even owned a Honda because I knew that I wanted one. So I've been saving my cash up for about 5 months or so with vacations and other vehicles issues picking my pocket I finally got up the money to find something but with less than $2000 to work with I was having a HARD time finding one in decent shape with AC (which is very useful here in the great state of FL)

I knew what I wanted,

96-99 EX 5spd Sedan

I almost settled for a coupe (95), automatic sedan (94) and this 93 that had no AC (none being EX) because well...they were in my price range. BUT! with a lot of faith and a little working I purchased today a 1997 EX Sedan 5spd WITH AC & Heat for $1600

What was the catch? high miles (185) and it has been beat to death by hail. it has dents in the fenders, back wall and roof. The guy started repair on it by replacing the hood but he didn't finish it the rest of the body. and the tint has seen its final days (looks like a home job)

the ad was short and sweet so I didn't expect much (ac, power everything, shifted well, ran good) well it runs GREAT and shifts wonderful

the interior has no rips,
has an aftermarket intake (AEM intake, has some kind of sloped extension put on it)
Aftermarket muffler that does NOT sound like a fart can (thank God)
decent Cd player w/amp and 2 subs in the trunk with oversized box
aftermarket headlights/tailights
and it's lowered
tires put on just 10,000 miles ago

the guy didn't mention any of the aftermarket parts because he was an older guy and probably had no clue it wasn't stock.