New Member Introductions Are you new to Honda Civic Forum? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride. This section is not for technical questions.

New Guy

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2008, 05:09 PM
Default New Guy

Hey Everyone!

I'm new to the Honda/Civic scene and really don't know much about these little hot rods. I recently inherited a 95 dx coupe with over 200,000 miles on it and I'm looking for a bit of advice.

I have looked over the site a bit and have got the basic upgrades down but I am a bit worried about putting more power into an engine with 200k on it. Does anyone have any suggestions on what I can do to bring life back before I start modding it?

The car runs like a dream and starts with no problems, does not burn oil or even smoke when I nail it. I am in the process of getting the parts for a tune up and to change the timing belt. Is there anything else that I should look for?

Thanks in advance everyone!

Old 12-09-2008, 01:44 PM

I was just wondering if I did something wrong or something. I posted this a few days ago and I still have not gotten a response. What's the deal? Just wanted to make sure that I'm doing this right.

Old 12-09-2008, 01:59 PM
HCF Member

Yes, you're doing fine. Sometimes threads just get over looked or just bad timing. As far as the motor condition, did you ask the previous owner for all of the maintenance documents and information. First thing I would do is perform a compression test to see what condition the internals really are in. If each cylinder is good across the board, then I see no reason to stop modding. A good seafoam and a tune-up shouldn't hurt though. Plus, d-series longblocks can be purchased relatively cheap these days.

Old 12-09-2008, 03:56 PM
HCF Member

my suggestion.

grab a B16 and build that in your shed/house/garage to be ridiculously fast or whatever you choose.

keep the D series as your driver until you finish the B.
then keep the D for when you blow the B :-p