New Member Introductions Are you new to Honda Civic Forum? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride. This section is not for technical questions.

Preformance mods and insurance

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-2005, 10:53 AM
Default Preformance mods and insurance

Hi,

Well I am new to cars. I just bought my first civic and its kind of my learning car. I would like to do some preformance mods but they have to be sublet or else the insurance will be up my *** (aka no turbos or super chargers). I am going to put on a cold air intake but what else could I do to give me a little more power? Its a 98 Civic EX 4 door. Some one recommend new exaust headers and a new "chip" althought I dont really know what that is. What would you guys recommend?

Thanks

Jeff

Old 09-29-2005, 10:57 AM
Default RE: Preformance mods and insurance

You could always do a few suspension mods such as lowering it a bit, lighter wheels, low profile tires, and even do a rear disc brake conversion.

Old 09-29-2005, 11:04 AM

ORIGINAL: ngoti8tor

You could always do a few suspension mods such as lowering it a bit, lighter wheels, low profile tires, and even do a rear disc brake conversion.

Hi,

Well i am putting coilovers in and new front struts to go with them. I will probably get new rims I don't know what to look for or whats a good size. Money isn't really an issue but I don't want to throw tons of cash. I'm already planning a lip kit/house of kolor paint job but don't know what to do in terms of performance

Old 09-29-2005, 11:12 AM

IMO, 16's are the best all around size in order to keep your ride comfort plus give you performance. 17's or 18's may look nice, but if this is your daily driver and you drive a lot, you may still want some comfort.

Old 09-29-2005, 11:19 AM