Suspension, Brakes, Tires & Wheels Talk about your suspension, tires, wheels and brakes within.

95 civic needs help

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2010, 10:42 PM
Default 95 civic needs help

ok so im new to the whole import world. im trying to build a 95 civic sedsn for my niece for when shes turns 16. i have a couple years to do it. but i was wanting to start with suspension. what would be the best way to go for lowering it right now and cheap. cuz right now its my daily driver. ive talked to a couple people and they said go on ebay and buy some coilovers. but i was on a website called pro cive and i was wondering about some lowering springs if thats a good way to go for now just to have it lowered some what. any info would help thanks. and if u know of any good sites thaks. im look for a new front bumper with fog lights aswell.

Old 07-20-2010, 11:09 PM

Don't buy generic coilovers on eBay. Don't buy generic anything. Name brand parts only. Suspension is not something you want to cheap out on.

Lowering springs will be adequate. How low do you want it? I assume she isn't going to be too interested in handling as much as it just not looking like a monster truck at stock ride height, correct? If so, just get some Tein S-tech springs and some decent shocks (Tokico HP, KYB AGX, Koni yellows, etc.). The S-techs lower like 1.5-2" and are pretty soft, so you retain a mostly comfortable ride compared to other springs.

The best way to shop for deals is to figure out exactly what you want, then search for that specific part on eBay and find the lowest price possible. On eBay, it is important to stay away from deals that look too good to be true. If it's horrendously underpriced, it is likely counterfeit, thus being a generic part of low quality. If you use good judgement, shopping for good parts on eBay can be the cheapest route to go in most cases. Don't waste your time browsing eBay trying to get ideas, it'll take all day to sort through the generic trash.