Suspension, Brakes, Tires & Wheels Talk about your suspension, tires, wheels and brakes within.

Locking Lugnuts

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2007, 12:26 PM
Default Locking Lugnuts

Keep in mind I am no mechanical guru.

I got a Red 1998 Civic EX about three weeks ago. Since I have gotten it I have changed every belt, steamed cleaned the interior, changed the oil, and replaced the spark plugs. Working on getting new speakers installed.

I got a set of tires with rims just yesterday from DiscountTireDirect...and they forgot to send me my lugnuts! I called and I should have them tomorrow. The tires and rims are on the links below.

http://www.discounttiredirect.com/di...do?mk=&yr=
1998&cf=false&sw=false&cs=205&pc=4 0219&rd=17&vid=006054&ar=40

http://www.discounttiredirect.com/di...p;wd=17&pc
=45355&rw=7.5&bp=4-100&vid=006054

These tires are WIDE! I'm very worried they are not going to work. I held them in place where they will be secured and there is less than 1/4 of an inch of clearence at the top backside. I was very worried that even when I got the lugnuts these would be grinding on the top side, but I put my finger on the back with the factory tires and it was just the same.

I am also very worried about my rims being stolen. It's not where I live that I am worried about...it's where my father works. My Father's ride was totalled because a drunk driver hit him so he is using my Civic to get to work...and his work is surrouned by the "ghetto" I am not going to let him use my tires until I get some locking lugnuts. I've been doing research and I have, so far, decided on the Gorilla brand. But it seems that any locking lugnut can be taken off with ease if someone really wants to. Auto part stores have tools specifically designed to take off locking lugnuts. I suppose I'll just get some good ones and hope for the best.