Suspension, Brakes, Tires & Wheels Talk about your suspension, tires, wheels and brakes within.

lowering your car

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2005, 07:26 PM
Default lowering your car

just want 2 know what all i need 2 lower my car and keep the drivability good also is it true bigger rims will drop your car alittle

Old 05-13-2005, 08:16 PM
Default RE: lowering your car

if you buy the correct size tires for your new wheels, then it will not lower it.i suppose you could go with some like 205 35s and it would lower it a little if you really wanted. but then your spedo and mabie even abs would be messed up.

Old 05-13-2005, 08:18 PM

so when i got the right size wheels how do i lower the car bout 2inches

Old 05-14-2005, 07:41 AM

With some lowered springs.

Old 05-14-2005, 09:33 AM

so do i need any thing else so it will still ride ok or just the lowering springs

Old 05-15-2005, 02:27 AM

Get some dampers and camber kits too.

Old 05-15-2005, 12:53 PM

i am no expert in tuning but i can give you advice from my own experience. buying a good set of shocks, lowering springs and adjustable coilovers are essential to maintaining a smooth ride while giving you that lowered look you want. i personally installed a dropzone coilover and lowering spring set. i dropped it all the way, it looks sweet but rides like ****. it is a cheap set up. i have brand new auto zone shocks and it still rides crappy. remember this, any mod you make to your car almost invariably sacrifices something somewhere else, i.e performance sacrifices reliability, lowering and low profile tires sacrifice comfort. you really need to decide what is more important to you out of these three: ride appearance, ride feel, and cost of modification. If money is no object tokico makes great shocks and skunk 2 makes a decent coilover and lowering spring kit. (by the way, coil overs are the thing the springs rest on, you jack the car up and raise the coilover up or down by twisting it left or right to get desir