Suspension, Brakes, Tires & Wheels Talk about your suspension, tires, wheels and brakes within.

New Aftermarket Tires

Search this Thread

Old 10-17-2008, 09:40 AM
HCF Member
Default New Aftermarket Tires

I'm pretty new to this whole car thing. I just recently learned how to drive a manual, which I got for free from my oldest step-bro, but he left it in real ****ty condition.
I just replaced both front axles with the help from a friend and there's a lot of body damage. But anyway; now you know I'm not exactly experienced.

My tires, I think they're stock but I'm not totally sure, are getting pretty beat up and I need to think about replacing them pretty soon here. I haven't compared the tires on the car with what the owner's manual says, but here are the stock tire specs from the manual:
175/65 R 14 81H

Looking for a set of decent all-seasons. Newer to this manny tran, so in the winter with ice and snow, I don't want to always have to be worrying about skidding and such.

So basically, what's a good bang for the buck deal?

And do I have to stick with the same rim size? I think I'm confused with what new tires exactly entails...new wheel and tire (metal and rubber) or just rubber...

Thanks guys

Old 10-17-2008, 10:37 AM

i don't know anything about winter tires, obviously

when you replace a tire, it's just the tire.

Old 10-17-2008, 10:47 AM
HCF Member

are you sure they are 175/65 R 14? sounds kind of small for 14" rims, look at the door jam to find the tire size or on the tires itself. i can't recommend tires to you that can stick well with snow and ice because i don't use my tires in snow and ice at all. no snow and ice in san francisco, the last time i remember it snowed a little here in san francisco is 3 years ago. lol

Old 10-17-2008, 11:55 AM

what year/model civic?

www.tirerack.com can help u choose out the right size and w/e tire best fits ur needs.

Old 10-17-2008, 05:49 PM
HCF Member

1995 civic lx
no ABS