Suspension, Brakes, Tires & Wheels Talk about your suspension, tires, wheels and brakes within.

Rotor question

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2005, 09:38 AM
Default Rotor question

Hey all. First off, I am a total newbie when it comes to mechanics. I know very little of the technical stuff and rarely do anything other than change my oil. My brother however is the mecahnic of the family. Anyways, I am having a problem with my breaks and there is a vibration whenever I stop. So my brother guessed that it was the front rotors and when I took my car into a local shop they said the same thing. However the shop would not give me a quote on the price for replacing the rotors. From here my brother told me that it would depend on whether the rotors were "press-on", or need a special tool, or not. The shop would also not tell me this and I can not sem to find this information anywhere on the internet. So basically, I have a 1997 Civic EX and need to know if that year/model uses "press-on" rotors. From what I hear it is the difference between around $100 and $300 to get this done at a shop if they are and my brother also does not ant to touch them if they are. Thanks for any help in advance.

Old 08-19-2005, 10:05 AM
Laced with Sarcasm
Default RE: Rotor question

Well, first off WELCOME to the forum!

Dealing with Civic brakes is a piece of cake. You don't need any special tools or anything like that either. Theres absolutely no reason to bring the car into a shop and paysomeone to replace rotors, thats just silly. Even the most un-mechanical person can handle this job. If you need any help along the way post up, or pm me and I'll do what i can to walk you through it.

Old 08-19-2005, 06:14 PM

Your rotors are not press-on. You could change em yourself easy. Make sure you clean em well with brake cleaner to degrease em.

Old 08-19-2005, 06:22 PM
Cat Fuсker

change pads with them also

Old 08-19-2005, 08:35 PM

ORIGINAL: hestonforprez