Suspension, Brakes, Tires & Wheels Talk about your suspension, tires, wheels and brakes within.

What is this?

Search this Thread

Old 11-16-2005, 08:50 PM
HCF Member
Default What is this?

I just bought this 98 Civic coupe a week ago. It rides really stiff. The dealer says it wasn't lowered. I beg to differ.

Here's a pic of the struts:
front

rear

It looks like the coils can be adjusted to change either ride height or quality. Any help would be appreciated. I'm new to strut/dampers. Thanks

-Ryan

Old 11-16-2005, 08:56 PM
mxs
HCF Member
Default RE: What is this?

the dealer's full of sheeeit, that is not your stock suspension.

Do you have a pic of the whole car? How much does it look like it's lowered?

<- not a suspension expert

edit: I found your pictures, you definitely have less wheel gap than me, or Forty

Old 11-16-2005, 08:57 PM
mxs
HCF Member

This thread should help you: https://www.hondacivicforum.com/m_103891/tm.htm

Old 11-16-2005, 09:14 PM
HCF Member

Very good, sir. That helps out a lot. Now I just have to find some of those special wrenches so I can make some adjustments. I'll have to yell at the dealer. [:@]

ORIGINAL: mxs

Old 11-16-2005, 09:19 PM
mxs
HCF Member

Very good, sir.
^ that's "ma'am" -- if you must

The picture in the other thread, I found that by searching for "coilover adjusting wrenches"

Old 11-16-2005, 09:56 PM

eBay coilover sleeves...

Old 11-16-2005, 10:12 PM
HCF Member

and that one on the front needs to be locked back up. those two rings need to be seated to each other to help stop them from moving. what a jackass dealer. oh, and those look kinda cheap, thats probably why its so stiff.

Old 11-17-2005, 05:44 AM

ORIGINAL: Rainingbullets

Very good, sir. That helps out a lot. Now I just have to find some of those special wrenches so I can make some adjustments. I'll have to yell at the dealer. [:@]

ORIGINAL: mxs