Transmission & Differential All trans and diff topics can be found within.

How realiable are honda Transmisions?

Search this Thread

Old 11-07-2005, 08:03 PM
Default How realiable are honda Transmisions?

Im new to honda guys. Ive had just about the worst transmissions problems ever with my old car. I had 7g Gallant with a 4g64t engine in it. In 2 years i went through 4 transmissions. My stock Auto was destroyed in 2-3 months.The second auto tranny I instaled a B&M tranny cooler that one died 5 months. I payed extra for a swap. A manual tranny only have that one die in 6 months. Conclusion Dont use Cottmon Transmission ever!!!!!!!!!! they hasle the crap out of you for your warranty and try to blame you for there crapy work not to mention charge ya for bullSh*t fees after fis there work. They build glass Trannies not to mention that mitsubishi's doesnt have much of a realiable transmission in the first palce. I wasted a total of 4k on cottmans crapy work. ALL of these tranies where rebuilt with or built from scratch off after market parts(suposedly).I finaly ended up getting another tranny from a local shop in Queens because a friend refered me to them and the car was great. I never got to see how long it would last . I totataled the whole car a few months later.

But oh ye back on the subject. How good do honda tranies hold up to decent power? HOW reliable have they been?

Old 11-07-2005, 08:44 PM
HCF Member
Default RE: How realiable are honda Transmisions?

Well, I've owned two Honda's with over 150k on the clock, and they still shifted smooth years later. My 15 year old Integra which I just retired, you couldn't tell that gearbox from a new one really.. I think it's safe to say Honda makes some of the best transmissions.

My friends 2 year old Ford Explorer just lost its transmission, now that's some funny ****.

Old 11-07-2005, 09:06 PM
HCF Member