Audio/Visual & Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

ipod, aux, multi disc input, kinda confused now

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-2007, 08:56 PM
HCF Member
Default ipod, aux, multi disc input, kinda confused now

As I understand it, in order for my 6 disc changer to keep working once i upgrade my head unit i need to get one of the same brand as the changer(ie alpine head unit) if thats not correct please correct me...

secondly i've been searching around sites trying to find out if I can have all 3, or more than 1 plugged in at a time... and w/o spending an extra 500 bux cause then i'll just buy a damned ipud... and so far i've not found any one site saying yes... or no, they just list features of the system, occasionally it will say aux in or changer... but nothing more [&:]

I'm new to car audio so bare with me.

And thanks in advance

Old 08-13-2007, 01:38 AM
HCF Member
Default RE: ipod, aux, multi disc input, kinda confused now

on the cd changer i dont know what to tell you but there is an adapter that you can buy at radioshack or any other electornic store or maybe even walmart, its the rca Y adapter, its basically spliced from 1 rca jack and it have 2 outs so if your headunit just have 1 aux in, you could buy a set (s) Y adapters, then you could have plug 2 deives, but you could only use one at the time E.I. (turn ipod on to use it, then turn it off and turn on the other device), if this doesnt make any sense im sorry, im going on 4 days without sleep lol

Old 08-13-2007, 06:46 AM
Recognized HCF Member

Don't know about Alpine specifically but most makers change the standard for how their head units and changers interface every few years. So if you have an old generation changer it may not work with any current model head unit.