Audio/Visual & Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

System. What to buy first?

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2005, 12:22 AM
Default System. What to buy first?

Hey. OK I don't know very much about car systems, but I do know that I love music and that I want my system to sound better then it does now.. I have a 2005 Civic Coupe SE, came with that 6 disk changer and what not... Anyways my question is, I eventually want an entire system, but I'm not a doctor or Lawyer so I can afford an entire one right now. So, is it OK to upgrade one component at a time? And if so, which should I do first that will give me the best noticeable difference? And in what order do U guys recommend me do it in?? THnx~

Old 08-18-2005, 01:24 AM
Default RE: System. What to buy first?

i dont know what the '05 model has in it but usually speakers are a noticeable upgrade. Factory ones are usually crap. If you are going for low cost then look at some 3 ways from Pioneer or Sony. Then I would look at a small 4 channel amp with speaker level inputs so you can keep your stock head.

Old 08-18-2005, 02:04 AM

I've got a 2005 EX coupe SE. The first thing I did was install the two 10" subs from my old car. This was probably not the best way to go because the bass overwhelmed the stock speakers. Then I replaced all six interior speakers and stuck an Alpine amp under my passenger seat. I want to keep the stock six disc changer, but the lack of EQ ability is a killer. Right now the system doesn't sound too bad. The biggest problem I have is the tweeters pumping out too much high end. If you want to keep the stock cd player I would recommend getting the door and rear speakers first, followed by some subs whenever funds allow.

Old 08-31-2005, 01:14 PM
HCF Member