ECU Tuning & Fuel Management Discuss electronics and related components within.

any advantage for fuel rail on N/A engine?

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2008, 04:54 AM
Default any advantage for fuel rail on N/A engine?

I had a quick question for the Civic guru's out there, i am a full time mechanic and i know how to do all the bolt on mods and low horsepower upgrades like cold air and exhaust, ignition etc. but when it comes to the ECU and fuel management, i suck :-(. What i want to know is if i would get any increase in power/torque if i upgraded the fuel rail and added a pressure regulator to my 98 HX. (D16Y5 manual.) All the parts would be either Skunk2 or AEM by the way. any info would be helpful.

Old 01-22-2008, 04:58 AM
Laced with Sarcasm
Default RE: any advantage for fuel rail on N/A engine?

No, unless you have a need to move more fuel faster (ie: forced induction) there is no benefit at all.

Also, I wouldnt trust the aftermarket FPR's, even from AEM. I've heard more bad news about them than good.

Old 01-22-2008, 06:50 PM

hey man thanks alot, i didnt think there would be a benefit, i was just curious. so basically bigger injectors/ fuel rails/ high psi pumps and regulators are only needed for the addition of forced induction, sounds good to me, guess im gonna have to swap out the D16Y5 and throw in a Z6 or a B18C and turbo the bitch haha, depending on the ol' check book that is... NASTY STI by the way

Old 01-23-2008, 05:40 AM
Laced with Sarcasm

ORIGINAL: civicrippa98

hey man thanks alot, i didnt think there would be a benefit, i was just curious. so basically bigger injectors/ fuel rails/ high psi pumps and regulators are only needed for the addition of forced induction, sounds good to me, guess im gonna have to swap out the D16Y5 and throw in a Z6 or a B18C and turbo the bitch haha, depending on the ol' check book that is... NASTY STI by the way
Thanks, but I wish! Its just a WRX, but still an absolute blast to drive.