Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

cam question!!!

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-2005, 04:03 PM
Default cam question!!!

im new to this so if this question is a repost im sorry...but my question is...
what kinda power gains would i get if i put a new cam in my d16y5....and can i just put the cam in or do i have to change other things to get it running right?
Help Please!!!

Old 10-12-2005, 04:53 PM
Default RE: cam question!!!

on a VTEC Jr. the gains won't be as good. Depending on other mods, somewhere in the ballpark around 8-12 at the wheels. But thats saying a lot!!! Tell me, What cam, what mods already done, how many miles. That would help.

Old 10-12-2005, 05:32 PM
HCF Member

on a VTEC Jr. the gains won't be as good.
explain why?

Old 10-12-2005, 05:39 PM

ya i was wondering if cams would be a good buy also. i have a 95 civic ex with vtec, about how much power would i be looking at if i get them? im looking at AEM cams, i have about 165k miles on it but good condition and i have headers and Exhaust.

thanks

Old 10-12-2005, 06:13 PM

The D16Y5 is the VTEC-E engine. According to my haynes manual, that engine makes 106 hp. where the Z6 of Y8's make a solid 127hp. I have also seen this in other places. It's kind of like the ULEV (Ultra low emissions vehicle), They have VTEC, but not for top end power.

Old 10-12-2005, 09:37 PM

As far as having to replace things besides the cams, companies make all kinds of engine parts, and to get the most out of em, you need to run all of the parts together. You dont have to, but theyre tested that way. Not required, but recommended.

Old 10-13-2005, 01:30 PM

ok well first off im not sure why your haynes manual says my engine only puts out 106...thats the dx mine puts out 115hp and i have already put a cold air intake and a custom exhaust on it i will put a header on it in a few weeks and i have 76,000 miles on it....thats my mods to the engine i hope that helps thanks alot