Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

D16z6 head swap

  #1  
Old 07-29-2006, 08:53 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Location:
Posts: 46
Default D16z6 head swap

Ok guys I have a 97 civic dx with d16y7 engine i ordered a D16z6 head with vtec am i gonna need some kind of new ecu for vtec
 
  #2  
Old 07-29-2006, 11:28 AM
Join Date: May 2006
Location:
Posts: 68
Default RE: D16z6 head swap

p28 ecu is the one that youre looking for i do believe. im doing that same exact swap right now actually z6 on a y7 and thats the ecu i picked up.
 
  #3  
Old 07-29-2006, 12:50 PM
HCF Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: north ont
Posts: 97
Default RE: D16z6 head swap

then u have to wire up the v-tec soliniod and ,,ground it and then theres one more wire i belive,,. thou i did read somthin about y7s not having a knok sensor ,which the v-tec needs,,plz correct if im wrong.thx
 
  #4  
Old 07-29-2006, 01:43 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Location:
Posts: 46
Default RE: D16z6 head swap

i read and the d16z6 does not have a knock sensor either so i believe i am set i might just set the wires to the original ecu bc i have a performance mugen chip
 
  #5  
Old 07-29-2006, 08:17 PM
HCF Member
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NC
Posts: 1,801
Default RE: D16z6 head swap

the d16z6 does not come equiped with a knock sensor. and your origional ecu does not have the cuircutry for vtec activation so find a vtec ecu is a must. i highly recomend converting to obd one as they are easily chippable(im puzzled to how you have a chipped obd2 ecu). personally you should have went with a y8 head, using the z6 head will require you to modify your distributor in order tfor it to bolt up to the head. i am not familiar with the obd2 ecu's so i couldnt tell you what the ex ecu code is.
 
  #6  
Old 07-30-2006, 01:03 PM
HCF Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: north ont
Posts: 97
Default RE: D16z6 head swap

good news on the y8 thing.. im goin that route ,,i hope. my car is auto ,so do i need an auto p28 ecu?,then run the xtra wire from the solinoid to the ecu?,cause i read u can do that instead of gettin a hole new harness..thx
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
sergiog
Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat
3
04-14-2011 05:23 AM
rec4x4
Engine & Internal
1
02-14-2008 08:22 PM
AnakinKenobe
Engine & Internal
16
06-03-2005 04:30 PM
Zenkis15
PRIVATE For Sale / Trade Classifieds
8
03-16-2005 09:03 AM
94si
EG Swaps
2
12-14-2004 06:53 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: D16z6 head swap


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.