Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

New Engine

  #1  
Old 01-19-2005, 01:18 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2
Default New Engine

Me and a buddy plan on dooing an engine swap on his civic cause the engine is starting to go and its got over 250k on it. We are looking at stock engines Oh yeah its a 94 civic ex. But wundering if there is anything else that will match up to the same mounts and reusing the ecu if possible. We have 800$ at our disposal. We were looking at zc's just cause they are cheap and easie to work on. He also has an auto so we are probably just wanting to get a complete block with transmission attached. We have been watching ebay for a while but the only problem we have is that we dont know which engines will be interchangeable with his without a lot of effort. I think its a sohc vtec.
 
  #2  
Old 01-19-2005, 01:20 PM
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 115
Default RE: New Engine

best bet is to just get the same engine he's got if it's the SOHC vtec which i'm sure it is since it's an EX model.

-B
 
  #3  
Old 01-19-2005, 02:33 PM
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 703
Default RE: New Engine

yup or just get a d15b motor and put a y8 and all this crap blah blah just get the same motor lol and work on it.
 
  #4  
Old 01-19-2005, 08:40 PM
HCF Member
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 7,699
Default RE: New Engine

stick with the z6 or a newer y8 and transfer all the accesories from the original except the intake manifold. the y8 is a little easier to build on.
 
  #5  
Old 01-20-2005, 07:15 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2
Default RE: New Engine

does anyone know of any usefull websites to get these engines from
 
  #6  
Old 01-20-2005, 08:11 PM
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location:
Posts: 1,720
Default RE: New Engine

www.hmotorsonline.com

Looks like they've got a D15B longblock for $435.
 
  #7  
Old 01-20-2005, 10:27 PM
HCF Member
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 7,699
Default RE: New Engine

from what ive heard, those d15bs are a waste. its hard to get them running right. they have a three stage vtec and i never could find an ecu for it. plus, theyre from cars with a CVT, trans, so i doubt you could get the d15b ecu to work right anyway.
 
  #8  
Old 01-21-2005, 11:07 AM
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 703
Default RE: New Engine

wel you dont have to get the d15b ecu you can get an ecu from another d-series motor and if you dont wanna get the d15b motor just get the si model the d16a6 and do the same thing to it. it has more compression and its a 1.6 instead of a 1.5.
 
  #9  
Old 01-21-2005, 12:56 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location:
Posts: 3,095
Default RE: New Engine

and its a 1.6 instead of a 1.5
No kidding...

I hate to break it to you like this, but the D15's from 4G's actually have HIGHER CR's than the Si D16 engine (A6).
 
  #10  
Old 01-21-2005, 01:53 PM
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 703
Default RE: New Engine

well yes and no it really depends the condition of the motor i mean if you get a used one yeh the compression of lower but if you rebuilt it i bet it can have the same as the d15b.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: New Engine


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.