Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

Performance Chips???

  #1  
Old 08-10-2006, 08:22 AM
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location:
Posts: 456
Default Performance Chips???

what is the best performance chip for me to get to improve HP and TQ?...or 1 or the other...i got a 02 civic EX 2dr..all stock xept a cat back...any good suggestions?
 
  #2  
Old 08-10-2006, 09:59 AM
HCF Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location:
Posts: 1,041
Default RE: Performance Chips???

I wouldnt go with a chip. I havnet heard many good things about them and my friend had one and it sent gas mileage into the gutter
 
  #3  
Old 08-10-2006, 10:11 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location:
Posts: 2,501
Default RE: Performance Chips???

Unless you know someone who chips on the side no shop will do it for you and no company makes chips for OBD2b ECUs. So basically there is no chip out there for you.
 
  #4  
Old 08-10-2006, 04:58 PM
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location:
Posts: 456
Default RE: Performance Chips???

damn...aint that a b!tch?...well then can yall plz tell me how to take out the govern chip?
 
  #5  
Old 08-10-2006, 05:24 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location:
Posts: 2,501
Default RE: Performance Chips???

A standalone EMS.
 
  #6  
Old 08-10-2006, 05:35 PM
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location:
Posts: 456
Default RE: Performance Chips???

which is?
 
  #7  
Old 08-10-2006, 05:43 PM
StifflersMom's Avatar
Cat Fuсker
Join Date: Nov 1978
Location: The Moon
Posts: 6,804
Default RE: Performance Chips???

AEM EMS
 
  #8  
Old 08-11-2006, 07:38 AM
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location:
Posts: 456
Default RE: Performance Chips???

you mean as in intake?...i just want to take off my gorvern chip so i can go past 125 ..if i take it out..do i gotta put in another chip or anything?
 
  #9  
Old 08-11-2006, 08:05 AM
Forty04's Avatar
Laced with Sarcasm
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 15,279
Default RE: Performance Chips???


ORIGINAL: Civic|UnLimiteD

you mean as in intake?...i just want to take off my gorvern chip so i can go past 125 ..if i take it out..do i gotta put in another chip or anything?
[sm=headbang.gif] You've got a LOT of research to do man.. Why do you want to get past 125? Doing some road track racing?
 
  #10  
Old 08-11-2006, 03:44 PM
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location:
Posts: 456
Default RE: Performance Chips???

no...i just like to top out cars..lol..only on the freeway though or the track...but anyway...we got alot of 5.0's and stuff here who think thatthey're bad asses..and i wanna take them down...there is this one stock 5.0 here that i gotta beat...but he has like double the hp i do and torque...im wanting to get a b18c5..but b4 that i need to temp increase my hp and tq some way...so i was thinkin about chips and stuff like that...and i dont wanna put a turbo on my stock engine :-P..whats the best cheapest way to increase my hp/tq...thanks!..any suggestions?
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Performance Chips???


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.