Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

So it begins . . .

  #1  
Old 12-31-2007, 10:23 AM
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location:
Posts: 679
Default So it begins . . .

As some of you may know i hydrolocked my gsr and im in the process of swapping it for a JDM GSR . here are some pictures of the damages and the swapping process , theres a lot more pics to come but the new engine isnt here yet so right know im waiting for someone to help me take the old engine out soi can clean the engine bay and all the parts i'll be using on the new engine.

Some pieces of the block that fell to the ground when i took the oil pan out



this is where they fell out of ( very sad )



The big hole in the block



now this is really sad



and this what my engine bay looks like as of now




 
  #2  
Old 12-31-2007, 10:27 AM
HCF Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Western Mass
Posts: 811
Default RE: So it begins . . .

cool. Did you figure out if the new motor is obd2 or obd1?
 
  #3  
Old 12-31-2007, 10:40 AM
riceburner700's Avatar
Recognized HCF Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Loveland CO
Posts: 6,629
Default RE: So it begins . . .

damn that sucks. sucks you cant compressor water unlike gas/mist. whens the new motor come in
 
  #4  
Old 12-31-2007, 10:58 AM
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location:
Posts: 679
Default RE: So it begins . . .

ORIGINAL: 95civic1.6l

cool. Did you figure out if the new motor is obd2 or obd1?
i have no idea i still need to talk to hmotors and ask them a few questions. but im pretty sure its obd2 and mine is obd1 but since it comes with the harness and ecu its fine , if the new engine is obd1 i'll just use the harness thats in the car and my p28
 
  #5  
Old 12-31-2007, 11:15 AM
HCF Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Western Mass
Posts: 811
Default RE: So it begins . . .

your civic is a 96 or above so its suppose to be obd2. Thats why i asked. I heard from people on here that if i got a 96- up civic i would need obd 2 so i could pass emissions. but who knows.
 
  #6  
Old 12-31-2007, 12:00 PM
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location:
Posts: 679
Default RE: So it begins . . .

i dont need to pass emissions here so ,my civic is a 00 but my gsr is a 96 with a p28 ecu. so im pretty sure i think its obd1 , is there anyway i can be sure what type of obd i have?
 
  #7  
Old 12-31-2007, 12:20 PM
mxs's Avatar
mxs
mxs is offline
HCF Member
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 7,994
Default RE: So it begins . . .

Your car is OBD2 and has a OBD2 engine harness, you must be using and OBD2 harness as the OBD1/integra harnesses are two pieces. So it's some modified Civic harness. And you probably have a OBD2-OBD1 jumper harness at the ECU. If your engine is OBD1 then there are probably some extra engine harness connectors just hanging out in your engine bay.
 
  #8  
Old 12-31-2007, 12:39 PM
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location:
Posts: 679
Default RE: So it begins . . .

yeah there are some connectors that arent really pluged. so what do i do? do i order it obd1 or obd2? the guys at h motors told since its already set up for obd1 i should go with that
 
  #9  
Old 12-31-2007, 12:48 PM
HCF Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Western Mass
Posts: 811
Default RE: So it begins . . .

MXS so you can still pass emissions with a 96-00 shell and a obd1 motor? because i heard that is illegal
 
  #10  
Old 12-31-2007, 12:50 PM
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location:
Posts: 679
Default RE: So it begins . . .

well heres a pic of my ECU and i think this is a obd2 conversion harness to obd1 , or am i wrong

 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: So it begins . . .


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.