Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

V-Tech

  #1  
Old 12-21-2004, 12:05 AM
ryn
ryn is offline
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location:
Posts: 5
Default V-Tech

I was wondering how to change the RPM that V-Tech kicks in at from 5,500 to probably 4,000 or so? What RPM do most people change it to if they change it at all?
 
  #2  
Old 12-21-2004, 02:53 AM
D16z6's Avatar
HCF Member
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Fort Smith, Arkansas
Posts: 1,406
Default RE: V-Tech

I thought that they do kick in at 4000rpm. Atleast for year 94
 
  #3  
Old 12-21-2004, 11:22 AM
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: West Palm Beach, Fl
Posts: 109
Default RE: V-Tech

i have a 04 ex 5spd and i think my v-tec kicks in at 4000 rpm but i might be wrong...
 
  #4  
Old 12-21-2004, 11:28 AM
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location:
Posts: 1,720
Default RE: V-Tech


ORIGINAL: ryn

I was wondering how to change the RPM that V-Tech kicks in at from 5,500 to probably 4,000 or so? What RPM do most people change it to if they change it at all?
For the 75892017839201656421043092167895649310675329109879 th time it's vtec not vtech.

I wouldn't recommend changing it. It's made to make your car produce more power and be more efficient while doing it only in the higher rpms. It'd just be bad for your engine to lower it too much.
 
  #5  
Old 12-21-2004, 01:49 PM
HCF Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Arizona
Posts: 2,156
Default RE: V-Tech

it kicks in at 5500 for a reason, the cams are made for the RMPs... when the RPMs are low the normal cams can keep up with it and its almaot perfect, but at high RPMs thats when it changes to a different profile to help your engine out. There's no power to be found that low without alot of engine work. Im not sure how your V-TECH engine works though
 
  #6  
Old 12-21-2004, 09:02 PM
HCF Member
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 7,699
Default RE: V-Tech

have you ever heard a V8 with a big beefy cam idling? it lopes really hard and almost wont run. thats because the cam lobes are too aggressive for the low rpm, it is bleeding off compression before the engine has time to make any power with it. if its bad, it will actually not work every other time and is called 8-cycling (vs. the normal 4-cycles of an engine). the pistons have to be moving faster to make power with bigger cam profiles, so until it gets to a certain rpm, the bigger lobes of vtec will HURT your power. when dyno tuning vtec controllers, they run a full run with the big lobes, then run a full run with the small lobes. then look at the superimposed graphs and set the changeover to when they cross. thats the best way to gain power with a vtec controller. different cam and compression setups will require different timing as well.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
lilfed857
Transmission & Differential
1
05-16-2014 04:39 AM
XCM828
Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat
51
01-23-2010 04:57 PM
truwon
Suspension, Brakes, Tires & Wheels
2
04-05-2007 10:06 PM
oldskl
Inside and Out
0
12-15-2004 11:11 AM
oldskl
General Civic Talk
0
12-15-2004 11:11 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: V-Tech


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.