Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

V6 swap help/advice

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2009, 01:33 PM
Exclamation V6 swap help/advice

Hey all! I'll try to make this as short as possible....

I'm new to the world of Honda Civic's. My uncle gave me his 1998 Civic 4 door LX for free once I got my license (I know, I'm "just" a kid.....). It has a D16Y7 engine which, understandably, fails to impress much. However, my GF has a 2001 Accord V6 EX and it's amazing! Smooth and fast with a nice V6 rumble. Needless to say, I'm a bit jealous. Since I got my car for free and I have quite a handsome sum of cash saved up, I thought I'd throw a bit at my ride.

I've seen a few folks that have swapped a 3.0 liter V6 from an Accord in Civics before. I'm very interested in doing a swap, since it will be smooth, reliable, and decently economical rather than swapping in a B-series engine that would be slightly less so (mostly in the smoothness category). I've found a clean V6/5-speed manual tranny combo with around 50K miles and the dude will sell it to me for around $800.

So my questions are, if I bought this engine.....

1) what else would I need to modify to accommodate this beast? My original thoughts were that I'd need new fuel pump, braket/mounts, and radiator. maybe I'm missing something? maybe I'm wrong?

2) roughly how much would all these parts/labor cost (excluding the engine)?

3) would it even be worth it?

Many thanks!!!

(Edit: It's gonna be a bone stock V6, nothing fancy. No turbos or jet packs or anything like that lol)

Last edited by atreyu; 04-04-2009 at 01:44 PM. Reason: just like to add
Old 04-04-2009, 02:48 PM

Send a PM (private message) to Splat.

Also, check out his project thread in the project section.

Old 04-04-2009, 04:11 PM

Originally Posted by trustdestruction
Send a PM (private message) to Splat.

Also, check out his project thread in the project section.