General Civic Talk Talk about the Honda Civic generally here.

01 Civic ex Spark Plug Tube Seal Question

Old 08-06-2014, 06:29 AM
Default 01 Civic ex Spark Plug Tube Seal Question

Hello All,

I have an 01 civic ex 4 door. 265,000 miles original owner and still runs strong. I had a CEL and Misfire on 2 cylinders, when I checked I had some oil on one of my spark plug boots. I am by no means a mechanic but took on the job of replacing the Valve cover gasket and spark plug tube seals. I used the Fel Pro (Felpro Valve Cover Gasket Set VS 50606 R: Shop the best Valve Cover Gasket at Advance Auto Parts). I noticed in the set that there are 4 spark plug tube seals that fit on the valve cover. There are 4 others that are slightly smaller. I am not able to figure out what they are used for. None of the videos I watched online mentioned what these additional spark plug tube seals would be for.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Old 08-06-2014, 08:28 AM

smaller ones are the grommets that go on the bolts which hold the valve cover down. They can leak over time, too.

Look at the link you provided us.

Specifications:
Kit/Set Contents: Valve Cover, Grommets, Tube Seals
Primary Gasket Material: Rubber
Quantity Of Pieces: 14

Customer Q&A:

Q:
How do you get the new valve cover bolt grommets on the bolts of a 2003 Honda civic? The grommets are too tight to go over the "step" on the bolt?

Asked on 12/17/2013 by Forte' from Boca Raton, FL

Know the answer? Answer this question

1 answer

CUSTOMER CARE

A: