General Civic Talk Talk about the Honda Civic generally here.

05 civic advice

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2011, 07:35 AM
Default 05 civic advice

Hi Guys,

i'm new to the Japanese car tuning world and just recently got my first Honda Civic Ex 2dr manual ..
i need advice... I would like to tune few things on the car to get some more power out as well as better sound from the exhaust.
Let me know .. I am open for suggestions and if anyone know a great tuning shop in LA area please let me know as well.

Thank you!

Old 03-28-2011, 06:47 PM
HCF Member

well, the typical things to start with are to get your car breathing better, so a cold air intake so that it can inhale better, and a header back exhaust so that it can exhale better, now that your car is breathing better make sure its ignition is up to par, aftermarket coil/packs/wires/plugs. somewhere in the middle i would install underdrive pulleys, then i would move into the fuel delivery, performance fuel injectors/ fuel pump, high flow fuel filter. maybe somewhere in there you could go with a performance intake manifold... and after that fun your car should be doing as good as it can without getting too involved

Old 03-28-2011, 07:30 PM
Recognized HCF Member

The D17 engine really doesn't develop more power no matter what you do; it's really best to trade the whole car if you're interested in actually going faster. But you could of course put an intake and / or catback on to change the sound.

Old 03-29-2011, 04:38 AM

thanks for heads up HUGECOW... i appreciate it.
mk378... i have 2 other cars that i can go plenty fast in them and get into a lot of trouble ...and not looking to build this car to be my rocket... would love to get better handling and a little better sound out of the car .. so like Huge said... start with intake and headers... and injectors...
my main question is ... who in honda world makes the best after market...