General Civic Talk Talk about the Honda Civic generally here.

1999 Honda Civic LX PROBLEMS. HELP please :(

Old 02-15-2010, 08:47 PM
Default 1999 Honda Civic LX PROBLEMS. HELP please :(

Hello people...

So I'm a newbie here and like most newbies I'm clueless about what it wrong with my car. lol.

So here's the deal. I drive a 1999 Honda Civic LX and its a SOHC NON-VTEC. It's a nifty, gas saving little vehicle. I love it!!! I love even more that it's standard which makes it fun to drive around. It's got 141,000 miles on the engine and never had any problems. I've always changed the oil regularly and pretty much kept on top of maintenance as far as I know. I don't know about the previous owner. But today the problems started.

The car worked fine in the morning but when I got off work I had problems. My check engine light came on and i noticed a sputter and lag in the acceleration. Strange. I replaced the spark plugs with OEM ones and gapped them according to Honda specs. There's a little better power but it still sputters and lags. I have trouble accelerating...especially up hills. Now for my big question: What could it be?? I know absolutely NOTHING about car mechanics...I've always had motorcycles and this is my FIRST car. (I have NEVER had trouble with my Honda 954RR lol). My buddy suggested I might wanna change my distributor cap and rotor and possibly the spark plug wires. I also thought it could be the coil but He told me since my car wasn't VTEC, I didn't have a coil on my car.

Can anyone give me some insight?? I'd REALLY appreciate it...Thanks in advance guys

Old 02-15-2010, 08:59 PM

anyone?? help????

Old 02-15-2010, 09:02 PM
HCF Member

First thing is first, don't start just throwing parts at your car. That gets expensive, and quick!
Since you have thrown a code, go see what the code is. You can go to Autozone and they will plug up to your system and tell you for free.

Old 02-15-2010, 09:12 PM

I got only 1 code surprisingly.