General Civic Talk Talk about the Honda Civic generally here.

2006 Civic block-Honda will not repair

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-2012, 10:42 AM
Default 2006 Civic block-Honda will not repair

I own a 2006 Honda Civic that has a engine block crack. Honda will not take care of one of it's best customers! 4 Honda's in a row while growing up in a Ford family!

I have been driving this car for 2 years after buying this used (2nd owner).
I noticed a coolant smell and some on the ground...took it to dealer who said THE BLOCK IS CRACKED and they will not warranty it!

Absolutly nothing was wrong with this car! THEN THE BLOCK CRACKS!!!!!

I know other cars have had this same problem....

Here is the problem......when I purshased this car the front fender was being replaced along with the door skin and slight repair to the rear quarter with no damage to the frame or suspension parts..... Around $2000 worth of damage they estimated. They were selling this car after repairing and after negotiating a price (i knew it was a rebuilt title) I purchased it.

I did not know that warranties would be void....but this repair never included any engine damage...because it was never damaged!!!!

Honda is just trying to get out of paying for their mistakes

What is your opinion?

Old 01-13-2012, 10:58 AM
Recognized HCF Member

The only official warranty it ever had was 3 years 36,000 miles, which has long expired. As far as an unofficial favor to repair it out of warranty, I think they do more for original owners.

Old 01-13-2012, 11:04 AM

The fact that the warranty is expired, the car now has a rebuilt title (If I read that correctly), and that you are not the original owner of the car, I doubt anyone will be able to help.

I have been a Honda owner all my life. I am 25 and had an 89 Accord, 93 Civic, 98 Civic, and now a 99 Civic. Honda has no idea who I am though since I have never walked into the dealership to buy something.

Old 01-13-2012, 12:22 PM
HCF Member