General Civic Talk Talk about the Honda Civic generally here.

Civic Newb help!

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2008, 10:17 AM
Default Civic Newb help!

Hi everyone. I'm pretty new to civicis (cars in general) and I had a few questions.
Well first off civics appealed to me b/c
1. they're good on gas (is this applicable when you get into performance mods?)
2. They seem like they'd be very customizable.
3. Good starter car. (I just got my license awhile ago)

Right now I have a truck and honestly I just want something faster/better on gas. Does it take a lot of money to put into one of these cars to make it perform well? How hard is it to learn the skills/MONEY is required to do these mods (I know the sky is the limit, but what's a practicle amount for a decent car?)

BTW* I'd be more into the performance than the bling. I've had some limited experience with working on cars (I'm trying to learn!!) I can do basic maintenance stuff and I've replaced a few things on my truck i.e. water pump, head gsakets, head, etc.

I know I have a lot of questions, but I'm really interested!!!! Thanks in advance : )

Old 02-03-2008, 11:33 AM
Default RE: Civic Newb help!

What civic do you have?

When I think about civics and speed they will never be fast unless you spend good money. you can turbo it, super charge it or engine swap. You can do cheaper stuff intake header exhaust test pipe but that wont you make that much faster. Also if you want to go faster and dont want to spend any money lose weight. Its not that hard to strip a 100 pounds off a civic

I forgot about nitrious, $ per horse power that the ceapest way

Old 02-03-2008, 11:53 AM

I don't have a civic yet, but I'd like to get like a 95-00 si or ex/ek I guess. I know I will have to spend some money, but I'm just wondering how much. I'd be willing to spend enough for a swap or turbo. (That's like 3g right for either?)

Old 02-03-2008, 12:30 PM