D15B engine question - HondaCivicForum.com

General Civic Talk Talk about the Honda Civic generally here.

D15B engine question

Reply

 
 
 
  #1  
Old 07-17-2010, 10:10 PM
silver2000civic's Avatar
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 242
Default D15B engine question

Well my question is will the D15B drop in my 2000 civic EX and hook right up or is there other stuff that needs to be done to make it work?
And what is up with the dual VTEC? What is diff between a single VTEC and the dual?
Thanks alot.
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-17-2010, 11:11 PM
NonRicer's Avatar
HCF Member
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 59
Default

Originally Posted by silver2000civic View Post
Well my question is will the D15B drop in my 2000 civic EX and hook right up or is there other stuff that needs to be done to make it work?
And what is up with the dual VTEC? What is diff between a single VTEC and the dual?
Thanks alot.
Maybe your thinking about dual over head cams? There is 2 vtec cams instead of one.
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-18-2010, 02:59 PM
silver2000civic's Avatar
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 242
Default

On the JDM d15b there are 2 vtec solenoids. I was woundering how that works. And would i beable to replace my d16y8 with the d15b??
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-18-2010, 06:57 PM
94civichatchback's Avatar
Chubby Chaser
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: whitwell,Tn 37397
Posts: 4,677
Default

yes the d15b has 2 vtec solnoids, you only need to hook up the one for high lob,
one is for low end vtec and other is for high end, if you have inspections or emmisions i would say just find another d16y8 to drop in or a d16y7 and put your head on it.
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-18-2010, 07:57 PM
StifflersMom's Avatar
Cat Fuсker
Join Date: Nov 1978
Location: The Moon
Posts: 6,804
Default

There are two kinds of D15B out there. One with dual stage VTEC and one with regular VTEC. If you want dual stage you'd have to use its original ECU.
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-19-2010, 12:39 AM
94civichatchback's Avatar
Chubby Chaser
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: whitwell,Tn 37397
Posts: 4,677
Default

vtec-e isnt d15b vtec-e is d15z1 and d16y5

like i said before save a headache and just grab another d16y8 and call it a day
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-19-2010, 10:32 PM
silver2000civic's Avatar
HCF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 242
Default

Does anyone know where i can find a d16y8 long block with lower miles? I found one on ebay with 48,000 miles for $500 shipped. I call the guy and when i went to buy it, it already sold. Im going to call him back tomorrow and see if he might have another one.
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-20-2010, 12:27 AM
NonRicer's Avatar
HCF Member
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 59
Default

junk yard
 
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-20-2010, 04:15 AM
Forty04's Avatar
Laced with Sarcasm
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 15,279
Default

Originally Posted by 94civichatchback View Post

like i said before save a headache and just grab another d16y8 and call it a day
srsly^

I don't understand how people seem to think you can just drop in a motor other than the one that came with the car, and expect EVERYTHING to "just bolt/plug right up." Every swap has it's quirks
 
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: D15B engine question


Advertising
Featured Sponsors

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.