General Civic Talk Talk about the Honda Civic generally here.

how did you start learning about cars?

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2007, 08:40 PM
Eun
Default how did you start learning about cars?

I have come in to senses, that, I have very little knowledge about cars.
How did you guys get to know all these things about cars? classes? internet?
cause I really would like to learn about cars, and start doing stuff on my civic ya know?
I have an auto technology class in my school (high school), the teacher's nice and all that but then we never learn anything. We have modules, and since I was a junior (the only, actually), so I got to choose the module last. I got brake components and functions, which I was NOT interested in. But I still did it anyways...
and also question, how much did you spend on your car? Not the car itself but for parts and all that.

Old 01-01-2007, 08:52 PM
HCF Member
Default RE: how did you start learning about cars?

I'm not saying I know a whole lot about cars now but before stumbled onto this forum [on accident, I was just searching around for stuff about my civic] I didn't know jack about cars. So this forum pretty much taught me everything aside for some research I did on turbocharging and nitrous. Um, a very rough guess would be that I have about 3k in my car with repairs and stuff since I bought it.

Ok sarcasim time, I can't help myself; brake components and functions... lets see, functions. It stops the car. Do I get an A?

Old 01-01-2007, 08:55 PM
HCF Member

I started off by reading HCF and the net. Then starting doing my own matnace like oil changes, rotate tires, filters, fluids, ect, and got a haynes repaire manual which helped out alot with learning. But pretty much reading.
www.howstuffworks.com is a REALLY good site on learning how all car stuff works. I used to spend hours on there.

Old 01-01-2007, 09:08 PM
Eun