General Civic Talk Talk about the Honda Civic generally here.

i/h/e as D I Y jobs for a beginner

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2007, 06:08 PM
HCF Member
Default i/h/e as D I Y jobs for a beginner

well since the first and easiest thing to mod is i/h/e then are they easy to do yourself for a complete beginner

Old 07-17-2007, 06:14 PM
Super Cereal Admin
Default RE: i/h/e as D I Y jobs for a beginner

I'm not really sure what you're getting at here, but I'll try to make it out as best I can. I/H/E mods are, for the most part, the easiest mods for someone who is new to cars. Intakes are probably the easiest, followed by cat-backs, and the hardest of the three is the header (just because you're working in a tight space and everything's rusted)

Old 07-17-2007, 06:58 PM
HCF Member

In my experiance, cat back exhausts are also fairly difficult just because of all the rusted bolt. Out of 4 or 5 attempts(on two different cars), I was only able to remove a muffler one time and that is because it fell off.

Old 07-17-2007, 08:44 PM
HCF Member

intakes are pretty easy even idiots can do it as long as you stick to like CAI's

headers will not be to entirley hard either, you just have to unbolt it and make sure you dont break any bolts though if there is any ( one on a A6)

exhaust, those can be semi difficult. you might have to torch some thing off or cut them.

Old 07-17-2007, 10:43 PM

as already stated above the hardest park of the job is getting those rusty bolts off. even if u spray the whole thing down with WD40 half the time is still goin to be spend on trying to loosen those rusty bolt. other than tht it pretty easy its just a little time consuming and get frustrated at time but in the end it worth it and u will be proud tht u did itur self.

Old 07-18-2007, 04:26 AM
Administrator

make PB Blaster and a wire brush(to scrape off rust), your friend

Old 07-18-2007, 05:26 AM

ORIGINAL: reaper2022