General Civic Talk Talk about the Honda Civic generally here.

Someone Help

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2007, 08:19 PM
Default Someone Help

Ok, Im a noob. I dont know too much about cars, I know the basics. I really just dont know about wiring and engines and ****. So I need some help with some things.. I am 15, I turn 16 soon and I have about 5-6 grand. I am going to get a 95 civic dx for about a grand and im going to spend the other 5 on decking it out. I want it to be able to go around 160+ mph. But I have no clue how to get it there with 5 g's. Someone please tell me EVERYTHING I will need for the engine. I would more than appreciate it, I have been doing research for like 5 months about it and I am so confused.

Thanks,
Jake

Old 03-16-2007, 09:04 PM
Default RE: Someone Help

I dont care if its even a little tip or a start.. Anything would help.

Old 03-16-2007, 09:49 PM
HCF Member

Well, if you're looking for speeds that excessive, you're gonna need to not only concentrate on power, but also suspension.

For the power end, you'd probabaly be best off with an engine swap. As for which one, I'm not the one to ask. Once it's in, you could go with an Intake, Header, and Exhuast to get some power gains, or go turbo to get much larger gains. You could probably do a swap + turbo with 5g's.

One more thing though...have you ever experienced how fast 160mph is? I'm guessing that at your age you're thinking: Fast, Fast, Fast, but just please be careful. Too many inexperience drivers have hit turns to hard and had nasty wrecks that end their lives. In my opinion, you would have a great car to drive if you swapped, did a coilover suspension setup, and maybe some exterior mods. 160mph is insane though, and it's gonna take a lot more than what you've got in cash to do it properly and safely.

Just my $.02...

Old 03-18-2007, 05:38 PM