General Civic Talk Talk about the Honda Civic generally here.

To trust the dealership mechanic?

Search this Thread

Old 11-16-2011, 05:46 AM
Default To trust the dealership mechanic?

Hi, I've got a 2002 civic LX with a 4-cylinder. It has 130K miles, and I've religiously changed the oil every 5k and taken it to the dealership mechanic every 10K. I generally trust them, and figure "who knows a honda better than a honda dealership?" My last experience with my regular maintenance has me questioning this logic that I've been using for the last 9 years.

I've never had any problems with it until the last 2,000 miles. The clutch started squeaking like finger nails on a chalk board. At 130,000 miles, I took it to the local dealership like normal (this was my first experience with this dealership, as I'm new to the area). I asked for them to investigate the squeaky clutch; investigate a hard-start condition (5 seconds of cranking to turn over when the engine is cold); and do an all-around inspection. I also gave them a list of things performed at 110,000 (replaced the timing chain) and 120,000 miles (adjusted the valves).

I got my car back.

They adjusted the valves, because (they say) there was an audible knock on the #4 cylinder. I asked them if this might be an indicator of a bigger problem, since the mechanic adjusted the valves 10,000 miles ago. I told him that I don't normally expect to adjust the valves every 10,000 miles on a civic. He wasn't sure whether or not it was an indication of a bigger problem.

It still has a hard start even though the mechanic replaced a sensor (which he said would resolve the issue). I called and asked why it still had the same condition as when I brought it in. He told me that "according to the book, there's only a fault if it doesn't turn over after 9 seconds of cranking." Nine seconds?!