General Civic Talk Talk about the Honda Civic generally here.

why am i getting such a looww milage?

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2008, 08:30 AM
Default why am i getting such a looww milage?

hello everyone...lately i have been very disappointed with my car...i have a 1998 honda civic ex coupe and ive been driving it for the past 7 months or so and my question is latley i have been gettting about 22 miles to the gallon on my car normally on a full tank driving local and highway combined i used to get around 290 miles total but now i fill my tank up and set the tiker to zero and by the time im refueling im getting about 220 miles to the full tank...what is wrong with my car? i took it to my local mechanic and he looked at it and couldnt find anything wrong with it...i recently got my fuel filter changed and my car tuned up ...the timing belt seems to be working fine as far as the mechanic goes...........but really is it just me or someon else has this problem to ? what do u say i do? i dont wanna spend 2 much money on it im a college student barley making it thru

Old 02-14-2008, 09:04 AM
Default RE: why am i getting such a looww milage?

Noah....Not sure where you live, but it's not unusual to get poorer mileage in the winter. The reason? Gasoline is reformulated. Oil, transmission fluid, wheel bearing grease, and other lubricants are much stiffer on start-up until several miles are driven due to colder temperatures. Tires have greater rolling resistance in colder weather. All combined, this can have a significant effect on gas mileage. Couple of questions: Has your air filter been recently replaced? Have you checked tire pressure lately? Do you drive the car slowly to warm it up or do you let it idle in your driveway? I suspect that, if your driving habits and throttle control remain constant, you will see mileage go up again when warmer weather is upon us.