Header, Intake, & Exhaust Custom Exhaust? New Headers? Need Opinions on Intakes? Discuss making your ride breathe better here.

Few questions about exhaust

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2007, 04:14 PM
Default Few questions about exhaust

I am by no means an expert when it comes to vehicles. I drive a manual 95 Honda Civic VX (hatchback), and the stock muffler system I have has an exhaust leak causing it to sound horrible. Not to mention, it's rusted pretty bad so it rattles often at lower idle. So I figure I might as well upgrade the performance a bit by buying a cat back exhaust system. My first question: is there a difference in the hatchback exhaust system than the sedan, does the VX matter? Also, I only plan to do minor upgrades in the future (intake, header, possibly suspension) and I would like to go with 2" or 2.25" piping. Would it be cheaper to bring my car to a shop, have them make some 2" piping and have the weld on the muffler, or should I just get the catback exhaust with the 2.25" piping included. I would like to spend no more than $500, because I figure that is how much it would be to replace my stock system with another stock system. Also, I wont be doing any other upgrades for awhile, so if I ONLY get a catback exhaust system will it sound raspy and like every other honda I hear around town? I would like it to sound as deep and full as possible, with that said, any suggestions? Thanks in advance!

Old 05-24-2007, 04:39 PM
Super Cereal Admin
Default RE: Few questions about exhaust

Okay, there's a few things to cover here. First and foremost, welcome to the forums!

Regarding your exhaust: I'm fairly certain there is a difference in the hatch/coupe/sedan exhausts, but I could be wrong. For the most part, the VX shouldn't matter, but it depends on what system you swap to. I'm not very familiar with the VX model, but I know some models have catalytic converters built into the exhaust manifold and others have the exhaust manifold and cat seperate.