Go Back  HondaCivicForum.com > Civic Style > Lighting & H.I.D.'s
Reload this Page >

Instrument(gauge) light fix with aftermarket stereo:help

Lighting & H.I.D.'s Post here about lighting, From exterior lighting to inside lighting.

Instrument(gauge) light fix with aftermarket stereo:help

  #1  
Old 05-20-2012, 05:24 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 19
Default Instrument(gauge) light fix with aftermarket stereo:help

I recently put in an aftermarket stereo in my 99 civic ex and after about a month the light for the gauges went out so they don't turn on with my headlights. Also the headlight chime doesn't work now either. I checked the fuse and it was blown so I replaced it with another 7.5A fuse. This one lasted about 5 days and now the lights are out again. Does anybody know what I can do to fix this? I read I shouldn't put a higher amp fuse in so I don't know what else I can do. Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 05-21-2012, 06:46 AM
ChristianL's Avatar
HCF Member
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Maryland
Posts: 325
Default

Tell us more about the new head unit and the installation. Could be something as easy as a bad ground, but without info on the rest of the setup, there's not much help to offer.
 
  #3  
Old 05-21-2012, 09:29 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 19
Default

It's a kenwood KDC-252U I bought an installation kit and a wiring harness and simply connected the wires on the wiring harness to the new radio, I didn't connect the 2 orange wires that say dimmer because I was told your not supposed to. I plugged the harness from the car into the new connected harness and it was fine for about a month. The radio is fine I'm only having problems with the gauge light and headlight chime. I think it's just that I don't have enough power to power the radio and everything else but I don't know any way to fix that.
 
  #4  
Old 05-21-2012, 01:16 PM
ChristianL's Avatar
HCF Member
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Maryland
Posts: 325
Default

Sounds like a clean install, and you should have enough power for the head unit on that circuit. I was just asking because I've seen a lot of hacked-together wiring splices that just turned into electrical nightmares.

Did you just do the head unit, or did you add anything else (like an amp or powered subwoofer)? I'm not sure that it matters, but did you need to keep the OEM head unit for the keyless remote to work (can't remember if that was changed by '99 or not).
 
  #5  
Old 05-21-2012, 01:23 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 19
Default

Yeah I read about a couple people having a bunch of problems from playing with the wires. But I haven't added an amp or sub but I replaced the bottom speakers on the driver and passenger door but that was months ago and I haven't had a problem. And no the keyless remote still works nothing was effected there. I've heard people having problems because of the dimmer switch but that doesn't make sense to me because the unit still works when i replaced the fuse.
 
  #6  
Old 05-25-2012, 09:55 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 19
Default

Bump.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
ghostbusters101
Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat
2
12-15-2010 07:32 PM
quartus
Audio/Video & Electronics DIYs
0
04-01-2010 08:15 AM
simons81
Audio/Visual & Electronics
17
04-13-2009 04:06 PM
addiction2bass
PRIVATE For Sale / Trade Classifieds
12
08-31-2007 12:35 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Instrument(gauge) light fix with aftermarket stereo:help


Advertising
Featured Sponsors

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.