Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a check engine light that won't go away, ask about it here!

97 civic ex a/c clutch won't engage

Search this Thread

Old 05-22-2012, 02:42 PM
Default 97 civic ex a/c clutch won't engage

I am troubleshooting a non working a/c system on a 97 civic ex. With a/c switch on, the condenser fan runs, but the compressor clutch will not engage. I've jumped the compressor clutch relay and clutch engages. I jumped white wire from condenser fan to red wire to clutch and clutch engages. I have power at blk/yel at thermostat only. The A17 connector at ECU reads 12v. I'm no electrician and need some help. Any input is appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Old 05-22-2012, 03:09 PM
Recognized HCF Member

Does the idle speed bump up when you press the button? (disconnect condenser fan so it doesn't disturb you) Is there pressure in the lines? (test with gauge, and/or unplug pressure switch and confirm it is a closed circuit)

And quit jumping stuff.

The control signals in and out of the ECU (and almost everywhere else related to the A/C) are negative logic, meaning the voltage to ground is high for off, and near zero for on. What you are experiencing suggests that the pressure switch is not completing the circuit to the ECU.

Last edited by mk378; 05-22-2012 at 03:12 PM.
Old 05-22-2012, 03:38 PM

Idle speed does not increase with button pushed and fan disconnected. Pressure is good. With pressure switch connector disconnected and ignition on, I have voltage at terminal 1 (blue/wht). There is continuity between posts 1 & 2 at the mounted pressure switch. I am getting 5v at C5 terminal of ECU. Does this mean a bad ECU? Thanks.

Old 05-22-2012, 03:47 PM
Recognized HCF Member

The voltage at the pressure switch (both terminals since it is closed) and the ECU input should drop to near zero when you press the button.

Old 05-22-2012, 04:02 PM