Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a check engine light that won't go away, ask about it here!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Motor swap

Search this Thread

Old 09-06-2006, 05:11 PM
Default Motor swap

Hello everyone. I'm new to the hondacivicforum.com and was wondering if anyone can help me out. My 16 year old son has got a 1975 Civic that he purchased himself when he was 14 (48000 orig miles). He and I have done some work on it ourselves. We've done a complete tune up, rebuilt the carb, reman distributor, fuel pump, aftermarket electric fuel pump (to cure vapor lock), battery, belts, thermal fan switch, radiator hoses, speedometer cable, front brake pads, and some other small odd and end stuff. He really likes the car as it is fairly unique. The problem is he wants to make it more of a "eurosport" type of car. As you probably know theres not a whole lot of options for a 75 civic. He has a friend with a 88 crx that just put in a new engine and 5 speed and is offering to sell the old one to him. Any one know if the 88 crx 1.5 and 5 speed will physically fit in a 75 civic with a 1.2 4 speed? Also wondering about cv axles for this combination. I reallize we will have to wire in a new harness for the ecm and fuel injection. Is the project going to be to expensive and time consuming to be worth while? Also I'm looking for a restoration parts suplier for this old honda (especially weather strips). Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Old 09-06-2006, 10:14 PM
HCF Member
Default RE: Motor swap

well - have to ask a question.
so an engine that has fuel injection (we are talking about port and not throttle body)
has to be kept fuel injection, is that right?
and that is because of the intake ?

Old 09-07-2006, 11:42 AM

Thanks for your interest in our peroject.