Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a check engine light that won't go away, ask about it here!

Motor Swap

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2013, 04:13 PM
Default Motor Swap

Ok guys I am totally new to hondas or import cars in general. I bought a 1993 Civic DX 1.5 for my sons first car. Here is the run down

Guy blew the head and his honda buddy put a new head gasket on the car and also replaced the 1.5 head with a 1.6 head and told him it would work. It was still overheating on him and he gave up. Thats where I step in and buy it for next to nothing. I now have the car and the rest of the 1.6 motor. I have ran the motor and have air bubbles in the radiator so I am pretty sure its got a bad gasket install orrrr can you not put that head on that motor? If you can do that kind of swap then I will just replace the gasket again but I dont want to do this again. OR should I just swap the motor and put the 1.6 in it? IF I do that with it work with the tranny thats in it? I am totally new to this....is there somewhere I can go to get details on doing this? I want to do it once and have a great car for my boy because he is not ready for his own Mustang yet...

HELP
Domestic Drag Racer....

Old 04-26-2013, 05:55 AM

You are looking for D series compatibility information.

Yes, D16s heads can fit on D15 blocks. What exactly needs to be done depends on the block/head. It is popular to install a VTEC head on a non vtec block, called a "mini me" conversion.

Yes the D series transmission will bolt up to any D seris block without problems. IMO, you should swap the motor to the full 1.6 if this motor has a history of overheating (unless you want to get the head and block checked for "level-ness".). Who knows how bad the previous owner roasted the motor..

Old 04-26-2013, 02:59 PM
Recognized HCF Member