Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a check engine light that won't go away, ask about it here!

Rebuild, Replace, or Crush?

Old 10-11-2007, 01:43 PM
Default Rebuild, Replace, or Crush?

I have a '89 Honda Civic LX with the 1.5L Engine. I bought it in '91 and have 124,000 miles on it. A year ago I"blew a Oil Ring" (as I term it). I am now in position totryto get the car back on the road.

Symptoms: Fouls 3rd Plug and burns oil like crazy. I did run the car with a 'cheater'(extends the sparkplug to protect it from fouling) but it ran so hot that it wouldmelt the plug wire.

The question is simple. I am looking for the cheapest alternative to get this on the road. Should I tear into this engine, should I insteadswap it out, or should I give up and get a replacementHonda?

I have been a backyard mechanic for 15 years on my vehicles, however, this would be the first time cracking an engine open. I havereplaced a few engines, a few transmissions,and everything in between but rebuildingwould be an adventure.

Thanks in advancefor any input, Stu

Old 10-11-2007, 01:47 PM
HCF Member
Default RE: Rebuild, Replace, or Crush?

Well since a 89 civic isn't worth much, I'd say get a new honda, and rebuild the engine of you 89. It might not be very lucrative, but since you've never done it and it seems to me you'd like to try, well do it! What have you got lose?

Old 10-11-2007, 03:20 PM
HCF Member

you can find a D series motor for a few hundred bucks on ebay. If you can do the labor its def worth it to swap it. Cheaper than getting a new car at least.

Old 10-11-2007, 04:13 PM
Recognized HCF Member

dito... if you know most common mechanics i would buy one from a junk yard that warentees the motor to be in good condition and just swap the motor with smething with lower milage.....