Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a check engine light that won't go away, ask about it here!

Rebuilt motor giving me lots of trouble...Help!

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2011, 12:38 AM
Exclamation Rebuilt motor giving me lots of trouble...Help!

Hello all...Thanks for reading and helping I appreciate it I'll try to keep the post short, but there's a lot to tell.

Car is 2000 Honda civic ex, 1.6L vtech d16Y8.

So I commute about 600-1000 miles a week. Decided to run my car out of oil and ruin my motor. I didn't turn the bearings but they were about to turn, some clacking etc. I'm a poor college student and had my brothers friend try to throw a new set of bearings on: no dice (I knew it was a long shot but the quotes I was getting was 1500-3000 grand to have the motor rebuilt at a shop.

Friend says he can rebuild it and just toss him a bit of cash later.

End up with a master rebuild kit, turn the crank, one new connecting rod cause it was bent. He puts the motor back together and it's running weird. Idle keeps dropping to 0 at stops and it's pinging badly. Google tells us how to set the timing (service connector by ECM). Runs perfectly, better than ever in fact. I drive it nicely for 520 miles with no problems, not taking it above 3k rpms. At 520 I decide to start pushing the car a bit more, but never take it above 4k rpm. Right at the end of one of my 100 mile trips the check engine light comes on and suddenly the idle is dropping again and it's like I'm driving the car under water (no power).